Just Beachy

After watching an online tutorial a few times, I finally have a way to set beach glass!

Those are still in need of refining, but they’re basically done. They look so much more like their real color in the sun up there. And like little turtles on their backs!

Here’s how they went together –

First I cut three pieces of 16 gauge Argentium silver wire after measuring with some string how much I’d need to make prongs long enough to secure the glass.

Next I made cuts with my saw in the exact center of the two shorter pieces. In order to make them easier to bend, I filed out notches to remove more metal on the inside of each bend –

If the first bend doesn’t make the right angle, file more and bend again until the prongs sit correctly –

That looked good so I filed the places on the Vs where they would rest against the middle wire. This makes for a much stronger solder joint –

And a successful soldering operation –

After a lot of sanding and polishing, I started to bend the wire around the glass –

Oh and you noticed that a loop suddenly appeared at the top – yup, I made that once I had the prongs started on their bendy journey.

And here’s the initial version of the pendant –

I say initial because I changed the way I finished the prongs with the second one and I like that method better. So I’ll file and refinish the prongs on the first for a nicer finish.

Leave a comment